Trip To Sangla, Chitkul, Kalpa – H.P, India

Tiredness was not an excuse. I was back on the street repacking my bags to continue the journey that had stopped previous day. Breathing the fresh morning air revitalized me giving that kick-start to the vertex of my spine.

Route: Sarhan -> Karcham -> Sangla -> Chitkul -> Sangla -> Karcham -> Recong Peo -> Kalpa

The Solo Ride

Humming “One more cup of coffee before I go” wasn’t helping my situation. The clerks at the guest house where I was staying were fast asleep and not willing to acknowledge my presence. Desperate attempts to wake them resulted in the few angry cries and yawned dialogues forcing me to move on, leaving the money to be settled at the front desk.

Few Good Roads

Driving through narrow winding roads, perhaps through the worst stretch of road I ever traveled on, led me believe that I would have to make a halt at Chitkul.  The uninteresting dusty roads led to gravel roads. Five hours of riding through huge dam projects and random hydro power plants led me to a small hamlet. I was starving and thirsty and wanted to have a quick meal before I went ahead. To my utter dismay there were no eateries around that hamlet.

En-route Sangla

I was told that the nearest village would be Sangla situated at an altitude of 2680m. Sangla, one of the largest villages in Kinnaur, is located at the lower edge of a gently sloping, alluvial fan, 18km from Karcham. The village of Sangla is part of Baspa valley regarded by many as the most beautiful of all Himalayan valleys. I however found it to mediocre at best. Perhaps the bad ride through these areas prevented me from appreciating the beauty of the Baspa valley.  The chilgoza pine dominant elsewhere in middle Kinnaur is strangely absent from the Baspa valley forest. Local legend has it that the Baspa and Satluj River are said to have run a race to decide which of the two should be considered senior. The Baspa, with shorter distance to travel, ambled slowly through its pretty valley while the Sutlej tumbled swiftly through the arid wastes of Tibet and upper Kinnaur. Only at Ruttrang did Baspa realize that the Sutlej was close by. It tumbled furiously down towards Karcham but still lost the race and with it, the chilgoza trees.

Nag Mandir – Sangla

Prayer Wheels @ Nag Mandir – Sangla

Sangla was not impressive at first sight. The overcrowded village prompted me to make a quick exit after a good meal. The only worthwhile visits are two impressive temples of Sangla, Nag Mandir and Devi Maa Mandir. The richly decorated Semi-Buddhist temple is typical example of Hindu-Buddhist confluence. The Nag Devta the main idol in Sangla temples is said to have come from the Dhauladhars and found lord Narayan already holding sway of the Sangla area. A contest was arranged to decide whether the Nag could also reside in the valley. Narayan assumed the form of cat and Nag became a rat. Both entered the lake with the cat in hot pursuit. The rat burrowed his way through the rocks at Ruttrang to escape. The lake drained out and the Nag won his right to stay in his temple in middle of Sangla. These little folklores impressed me, as I spend time talking to elders in the village. With very little time in hand, I bit farewell to the kind villagers and set out to Chitkul.

Narrow Streets Of Sangla

Sangla Bowl

Chitkul situated at 3450m is that last village of India, after which is Tibet. Reaching Chitkul from Sangla entails a rough passage through alternating between tumbling down huge masses of glacial moraine and lapping serenely along the flat bottom bowls. The very picturesque village has a very calm feel to it. The inhabitants of this village were warm and welcoming. Snooping around the village, I realized that this little cute village is now a hub for tourists, with numerous home stays all along the village road. It is disheartening to see this village being transformed to crowded den of tourists. Had I arrived here 10 year ago, I might have had different opinion. Nonetheless it is still a very beautiful village to stay for a week.

Baspa Valley

The Mathi Devi temple at Chitkul appears to be oldest in the valley. The Mathi Devi is said to be consort of the Kamroo Narayan. I could not gather any folklore for this temple as the locals seem quite unaware of the past.

Mathi Devi Temple – Chitkul

Chitkul

Driving back from Chitkul to Recong peo had to be worst ride of the trip. The battered and dusty roads gave no reprise to the rider. The long and tiresome bumpy ride finally led to me to Recong Peo.

Area around Chitkul

I decided to get my bike checked from a mechanic and fill up fuel for rest of journey tomorrow. To my surprise, I was told that there was fuel shortage at Peo. However, I was informed that fuel will be available the next day. Having fixed my bike, I drove up to Kalpa for the night. I was too tired to explore Kalpa that I decided to stay indoors. Peeking out of my balcony I could see Kinner Kailash while hot pakodas were prepared in the kitchen.

Kinner Kailash & Jorkanden

Previous Day:->

Next Day:->

23 responses to “Trip To Sangla, Chitkul, Kalpa – H.P, India

  1. Pingback: Trip To Nako – H.P, India | Hobbies Of The Earth Bound Misfit

  2. Pingback: Road Trip: Kinnaur, Spiti, Lahul – H.P, India | Hobbies Of The Earth Bound Misfit

  3. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished
    to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your
    rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  4. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

    • Hi Michaela,

      The one you commented on is wordpress, hence free. Its very easy to set up and use free service but from my experience its a pain if you plan to add lots of features to you blog in future. I learnt it the hardway. I moved this blog to my own http://trailsntrials.in. It does cost some money but its worth it if you are serious about your blog. If you are going to use some template like whats there in my new site http://trailsntrials.in then to develop it will cost you around 5000 Rs (not dollars). The webspace would be around Rs.199 per month and Rs.2000 for domain name valid for 5 years. If you convert all this to $ it might be quite affordable. You can check it out. If you need anymore info please contact me through my new site or on FB https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trails-n-Trials/459684420731277

      Regards, Varun

  5. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome web site!

  6. Hi there, after reading this remarkable article i am
    as well happy to share my know-how here with friends.

  7. I savour, result in I discovered exactly what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.

    Bye

  8. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your site. It appears as if some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thanks

  9. Having read this I thought it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  10. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or
    understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information
    for my mission.

  11. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue
    fixed soon. Cheers

  12. Howdy, I believe your website may be having web browser compatibility
    issues. Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however,
    when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, wonderful site!

  13. Hi mates, how is all, and what you want to say regarding this paragraph, in my
    view its in fact awesome for me.

  14. Damn cool place.I have visited there 7 times 🙂

  15. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.

    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in
    which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually
    a terrific web site.

  16. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills annd also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or diid you modify iit yourself?
    Anyway keep up tthe excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    nice blog like this one nowadays.

  17. Hi there, I would like to subscrib foor this blog to obtain hottest updates, thus
    where can i do it please help out.

  18. Do you have a spam problem oon this blog; I also aam a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of us hage created some nice methods and we are
    looking to trade strategies with other folks, why noot shoot me an
    email if interested.

  19. Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog article.Much thanks again. Really Great.

Leave a Reply

